Class of 1971 Awards from the College and the Alumnae Association Special Congratulations to our 2021 Award Recipients!

Achievement Award Presented to an alumna for outstanding achievements and service to the larger society through salaried or volunteer fields of endeavor. Recognizes work that exemplifies the ideals of a liberal arts education; that demonstrates the professional distinction, sustained commitment, and/or creativity; and that reflects the vision and pioneering spirit of Mary Lyon.

Alumnae Medal of Honor Awarded for eminent service in promotion on the effectiveness of the Alumnae Association and/or College. Significant leadership, specific accomplishments, and stellar service have been consistent over an extended period of -me and broad-based across multiple major areas of involvement, which include classes, clubs, global regions, groups, the Alumnae Association, and the College. Awarded beginning at the 20th reunion.

Loyalty Award Awarded to honor an alumna who has demonstrated exception loyalty to the Alumnae Association and/or College with her consistent effort and active involvement over an extended period of -me in at least one area of service. Volunteer effort can be on behalf of classes, clubs, global regions, groups, the Alumnae Association, or the College Awarded beginning at the 20th reunion.



Laverne Y. Berry 2021Achievement Award



Rhynette Northcross Hurd (seated, right)
2021 Alumnae Medal of Honor



Alice Capson (right)
2021 Loyalty Award



Margaret Gere Harris (center)
2021 Loyalty Award

1971 Classmates Honored in Current and Previous Years

Achievement Award

2021 Laverne Y. Berry

Alumnae Medal of Honor

1991 Margaret Johnson Ware

1996 Marcia Mead Lebre

1996 Karen G. Klingensmith

2001 Emily C. Young

2021 Rhynette Northcross Hurd

Loyalty Award

2011 Marcy Wilkov Waterman

2011 Judith Katzenelson Brownstein

2016 Phoebe Zablow McBee

2016 Susan Laredo Thompson

2016 Carol Cramer Mills

2016 Jane Pollard Mayo

2021 Alice Capson

2021 Margaret Gere Harris

Mary Lyon Award Awarded at the College's Spring celebration of Excellence to a recent alumna (graduated fifteen or fewer years ago) who demonstrates exceptional promise of sustained achievement in her life, profession or community, and whose work embodies the humane values which Mary Lyon exemplified in her life and inspired in others.

1984 Maureen A. Flannery

1985 Wendy Wasserstein

1986 Rosemarie Maddi

Sesquicentennial Award

1988 Judith Katz 1988

Honorary Degree Recipients Mount Holyoke began to award honorary degrees in 1894. These degrees celebrate the work of notable alumna as well as others who have achieved distinction in the arts and humanities, political and the law, the sciences, social work and education. Recipients include **Wendy Wasserstein (Doctor of Humane Letters), 1990**

1971 Alumnae Trustees

Nancy Gerstein Novogrod (former)

Cynthia Gibson Beerbower (former) Rhynette Northcross Hurd (current)