Minutes of the Class of 1971: virtual meeting via Zoom on 5/22/2021 (50th reunion)

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic restrictions, the meeting was called to order via Zoom at 5:03 by president Liz Berens. Over 90 members of the Class of 1971 were connected for the meeting. The final total count of registered participants for the weekend's virtual reunion was 184.

Opening Remarks:

President Liz Berens began by thanking the class officers and 50th reunion volunteers for their tireless efforts to bring all of us together in this unprecedented time. Liz thanked the following class officers for their collaboration: Meg Gere Harris (vice-president), Margie Johnson Ware (scribe) and Ann Hurd (treasurer). Mention was made to our Connections Class of 2021.

Special thanks to Carol Cramer Mills, Beth Grosvenor Boland and Lisa Dake Oberreuter for their hard work and diligence in planning and executing the virtual reunion. Because of the necessity of a virtual reunion, special efforts were necessary. The committees are listed here:

- Remembering and Reflecting Committee: Val Bryan, Sarah Sharer Curley, Kathy Stephens Milar, Kathy King Parker, Ann Barclay Robson, Meredith Tennett and Emily Young.
- Art Exhibit: Ann Barclay Robson
- Birthday Cards: Meg Gere Harris, Margaret Vieira Flouton
- Reunion Booklet: Wendy Hagen Bauer
- Survey: Donna DiPaolo
- Saturday Night Program: Emily Young and the following:
 - Climate Change: Susan Munsell Hollingshead, Becky Rom, Sallie Welles, Becky Ritchie Cutting, Wendy Hagen Bauer, Joann Otto, Barbara McClure Benedict
 - Racial Justice: Val Smith, Laverne Berry, Rhynette Northcross Hurd
 - Gender Equity: Meredith Tennett, Kathy Stephens Milar, Phoebe Zablow McBee, Vicky Pierce, Joyce Glassman Schlesinger
- Connections Class of 2021: Liz Berens, Marcy Wilkov Waterman, Emily Young, Ann Hurd, Val Mero, Val Bryan
- Web Master: Kathy Bendo
- Music Playlist: Donna DiPaolo
- Freshman Dorm Zoom calls: Marcia Katz Birken and Catherine Conover
- Technical Help: Nancy Cramer Godfrey

Business Topics Discussed:

Liz continued the meeting with general comments about the various 50th reunion projects and the many meetings of the committees held via Zoom throughout the year. Special thanks to Judith Katzenelson Brownstein, Bethany Holley Craig and Alice Capson for their work on the Nominating Committee which presented the slate of class officers for 2021-2026.

A visual show of hands confirmed the following officers:

President: Meg Gere Harris Vice-President: Andrea Lange Secretary/Scribe: Linda Keown Treasurer: Carol Cramer Mills

Nominating Committee for 2026-2031: Jane Pollard Mayo, Peggy Rotundo, Val Smith

Web management: Kathy Bendo

55th Reunion Co-Chairs: Carol Cramer Mills, Beth Grosvenor Boland, Lisa Dake Oberreuter

Throughout the year 2020-2021 dominated by the COVID-19 pandemic, the class was able to get together via freshman dormitory Zoom meetings which were generally popular. Alumnae awards were presented during the 2021 virtual Alumnae Reunion Meeting to the following members of the class of 1971: Alice J. Capson and Meg Gere Harris (Loyalty Awards), Laverne Y. Berry (Alumnae Achievement Award) and Rhynette Nothcross Hurd (Alumnae Medal of Honor) for their outstanding support of our class.

Meg Gere Harris thanked Liz Berens for her diligence as president of our class for the last ten years. During this period, the class has lost several members whose names were read aloud. Since graduation, the class has lost 28 members with seven members lost since the 2016 reunion.

The minutes from the class meeting in 2016 were approved unanimously. A current treasurer's report was shared and approved. Class dues for the next five years remain the same at \$50 and can be sent directly to Carol Cramer Mills.

Marcy Wilkov Waterman shared the exciting news that our 50th Comprehensive reunion gift was the largest in the College's history with a participation rate of 84% and a total of \$8,500,000. The record breaking effort was achieved with the combined efforts of Andrea Lange (head class agent), Marcy Wilkov Waterman and Emily Young (co-chairs) and committee members Kathy Bendo, Barbara McClure Benedict, Liz Berens (ex-oficio), Judith Katzenelson Brownstein, Marilyn Budzanoski, Willo Carey, Christine Clune Chastain-Warheit, Linda Wong Chu, Catherine Conover (ex-oficio), Anne Marsh Fields, Aimee Garn, Laurie Robin Hammel, Meg Gere Harris, Ann S. Hurd (ex-oficio), Barbara A. Kelly, Phoebe Zablow McBee, Katharine Stephens Milar and Sally Wakefield Munford.

Following the conclusion of the reunion on Sunday, May 23rd, a reunion booklet will be mailed free of charge to all registered members of the class of 1971.

There was no new business.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:30 PM. Because of the brevity of the meeting, the minutes are also abnormally brief and somewhat condensed.

Respectfully submitted, Linda J. Keown, secretary/scribe Class of 1971